WA – Education

Education in Western Australia consists of one year of pre-school at age 5, followed by seven years of primary school education. At age 13, students begin five years of secondary education. The final two years of secondary education are currently changing to compulsory. All students who completed Year 10 in 2005 are now required to undertake further studies in Year 11. Students are required to complete the year in which they turn 16 (usually Year 11).

Since 2008, all students are required to complete 12 years of study before leaving school. Students have the option to study at a TAFE college in their eleventh year or continue through high school with a vocational course or a specific University entrance course.

The universities in Western Australia are Curtin University, Murdoch University, Edith Cowan University, University of Notre Dame and the University of Western Australia.

Content from this page is drawn from Here.

Comments are closed.